shopping cart
News Blog Shop Catalogue Artists About

Shelflife is excited to announce a very special release by one of our long time favorite bands Pia Fraus. Silmi Island is a celebration of their ten year history featuring 13 of their very best tracks from 1998-2008 and presented on limited LP+CD format. All tracks were completely re-recorded or remastered and appearing on vinyl for the very first time. There is also two bonus tracks included on the enclosed CD -- one being a surprise My Bloody Valentine cover!

The band formed in Tallinn, Estonia in 1998 by a group of art-school students Rein Fuks, Reijo Tagapere, Tõnis Kenkmaa, Kärt Ojavee, Kristel Loide and Joosep Volk. Eve Komp and Margus Voolpriit later joined replacing Kristel and Joosep. They all shared their common love for early 90s shoegaze and US noise / indie rock groups and instantly began writing songs and playing live. Since then they have released four albums and numerous singles (on Clairecords, Vinyl Junkie and Seksound), have been produced by Teenage Fanclub's Norman Blake and Ulrich Schnauss, and have remixed the likes of Hood, Teenage Fanclub, His Name Is Alive, Future Pilot Aka, Seeland and International Airport.

Pia Fraus have become well-known for their perfect blend of dream pop -- mixing guitars, vocals and organ layers masterfully. They've been hitting their reverb pedals way before it was so trendy to do so and have paved the way to the modern dream pop genre. Silmi Island is a must have for any Pia Fraus fan's collection and also a perfect introduction to the band for those who have been missing out.

Silmi Island is a co-release with Seksound in Estonia in a limited edition of 500 hand-numbered 180 gram LP (with included CD) copies worldwide.

For fans of: Stereolab, My Bloody Valentine, Pale Saints, Unrest, Sonic Youth, and of course - Pia Fraus!

Praise for Pia Fraus:

"These are the sorts of songs that teenage dreams live and die on."
- All Music

"enrapturing and unmistakably beautiful"
- Splendid Zine

"Pia Fraus exhibit a keen eye for melody and an almost professional ability to knock out solid song after solid song."
- Indieville

"...lush boy-girl harmonies and dense atmospheric sound texture minus the brooding, gauzy doom-and-gloom theatrics of shoegazing."
- Losing Today

"It's loose and jubilant as springtime, violently happy and crammed with the sound of 100 guitars on overdrive."
- Philadelphia Weekly

Pia Fraus
Silmi Island

Release date: January 22, 2013
Catalogue number: LIFE096
Pressing: limited edition LP+CD: 500 copies on 180 gram vinyl
Artwork by: Ulla Saar

1. Feeling is New
2. Sailing Yes
3. Birds Still Swing
4. Thank You Peter Parker
5. Japanese Heart Software
6. Springsister
7. Deep Purple Girl
8. After Summer (cd only)
9. 400 & 57
10. Mute the Birds (feat. Ulrich Schnauss)
11. You Look Fine
12. Mooie Island
13. Day Week or Season
14. No Need for Sanity
15. Strawberry Wine (cd only)
One-sheet pdf
Cover art hi-res