shopping cart
News Blog Shop Catalogue Artists About

We are proud to present The Proctors highly anticipated new album, Everlasting Light coming September 24 on limited edition LP (with download code), CD and digital formats. The first 100 copies will be available on limited green vinyl, exclusively on

After joining Shelflife in 2011 with their now sold out All The Books 7", the band spent all of 2012 completing Everlasting Light, which marks their first album release since Pinstripes & Englishmen back in 1995 (Sunday Records). The band has been on an absolute streak of writing perfect pop song after perfect pop song and it shows. In fact, there were so many great songs to choose from that we added two bonus tracks on the CD version.

Everlasting Light is destined to become an absolute guitar pop classic. The album is coated in sunbathed jangly guitars, incredibly catchy choruses, and Gavin and Margaret's lovely whispy boy-girl vocals. The band uses their 90s indie pop roots to their advantage while mixing in just enough 60s paisley-tinted sounds to create an album that would have fit at home in the early days of Sarah Records. Their Byrds-esque melodic guitar lines create a love affair with each listen. Special guest star Terry Bickers (The House of Love) contributed guitar to some tracks. The album was produced by The Proctors and Ian Catt (Saint Etienne, The Field Mice).

For fans of: The Field Mice, early Primal Scream, Biff Bang Pow!, The Chills, The House Of Love, The Bodines


427182_476912868988106_1600170885_n Gavin started The Proctors as a recording project in 1993 following the demise of The Cudgels in which he had been lead guitarist. The original line up also featured Gavin"s sister Christina on vocals and ex-Cudgels Adrian Jones.

The band recorded a well received demo tape which led to Albert of Sunday Records (USA) offering to release a 7"; single by the band. Gavin invited Stephen Davies (ex Cudgels) to join the band at this point.The Baby Blue EP was released in 1993. The single sold well and impressed by Gavin's songwriting skills, Albert asked The Proctors to commence work on an album.

Around this time Stephen took some time out, and the band settled down as a three piece. In 1994 the Moon Song 7" was released and various appearances were made on Sunday Records compilations over the next three years until in 1996 the album Pinstripes and Englishmen was released. Again the record sold well and the band had begun to attract a small but loyal following, even though they had never played a live show. In 1997, Gavin's involvement with 38591_147845575228172_2692588_nother musical projects left little time to concentrate on The Proctors and the group decided to take a break. Following the release on Cloudberry Records in 2009 of an EP of unreleased songs, The Proctors released a 7" Vinyl/mp3 Single on Shelflife Records (USA) featuring new tunes "All The Books" and "Morning Light". The present line up of Gavin Priest, Adrian Jones and Margaret Calleja have just completed their forthcoming album to be released on Shelflife later in 2013.

The band have recently performed at the NYC Popfest, Indietracks, London Popfest and Madrid Popfest. Lisa Westerlund joins us on Bass Guitar for live shows.

The Proctors
Everlasting Light

Release date: September 24, 2013
Catalogue number: LIFE092
Pressing: green vinyl (100 copies) and black vinyl (150 copies).
Artwork by: Matthew Edwards

1. Trouble With Forever (mp3)
2. Into the Sun
3. Perfect World
4. Yesterday's Boy
5. Fall Down With You
6. Adrienne
7. Ambulance
8. Dream as I Dream
9. I Need To Tell You
10. Wishing Well
11. Season's Change
12. Fun Sunday
13. Ember Days
14. Cellophane (cd bonus track)
15. All Mornings (cd bonus track)
limited color vinyl
One-sheet pdf
Cover art hi-res